One Night.

19 Jan

It’s my last night in the U.S. for the foreseeable future. How am I feeling?

Tired, but more importantly a bit freaked out. Anxious is the appropriate term: excited+nervous=anxious. I’m worried about the language barrier (I know I’ve been taking Arabic for 2.5 years but that doesn’t mean a lot, really.), my classes, culture shock, yada yada. Also excited for all of the same things.

But since my last post, I’ve turned 21! Very exciting.

Fun fact: January 16 (my birthday) was also the day that the 18th Amendment (one that made alcohol illegal) was ratified. Very amusing.

Egypt, while obviously a predominantly Muslim country (alcohol is not in the good books…well, book, the Quran…for Islam), does have alcohol available and I think Stella is their popular brand of beer. Regardless, thousands of expats are in Cairo so if I so choose I could get a drink if I wanted.

Other news: Chris won the Golden Globe! Chris Colfer, my friend from high school (oh so long ago), won the Best Supporting Actor in a TV Series and I couldn’t be prouder. Also happened on my birthday, so awesome present.

Now I really need to get to bed. But I’m waiting for my friend Mikendra to drop off a going away gift because she is ridiculous and I love her. But ridiculous.

My flight leaves at 5:50am for LA, then LA to Dubai, then Dubai to Cairo. I get to Cairo at 5:25pm Friday. So a LONG day(s) ahead of me!

But the beginning of an epic adventure is about to start :).

Leave a Reply

